WAP – Wireless Application Protocol

Ever heard of it?  I hadn't till today.  Rather, I read it in a post made to a yahoo groups discussion board on LMC.  http://groups.yahoo.com/group/HLS_LMC 

Wikiapedia explains it like so,"WAP is an open international standard for applications that use wireless communication (for example, Internet access from a mobile phone). WAP was designed to provide services equivalent to a web browser with some mobile-specific additions, being specifically designed to address the limitations of very small portable devices. It is now the protocol used for the majority of the world's mobile Internet sites, otherwise known as wap-sites (WAPsites, WAP sites, wapsites, etc.). The Japanese i-mode system is the other major competing wireless data protocol."

I don't know about you, but it's still all very greek to me.  And mind you, I love Greek food. 😀  But in the yahoo post, the author was asking if 'content created in LMA will be for WAP delivery vs. packaged content (PRC or Windows exe)?'

I'd love to hear what you think about this?  Remeber, your knowledge is the key to my success.

Leave a comment